Dust

milk_lake_goddess1

.

Milk lake Goddess,
…………certain as a virgin ship,
elaborate as a lost symphony.

Effervescing raw need,
…………she spills  bronzed petals of love’s hunger.
……      Their fragrant flutterings
kiss his dismissive feet.

No pause for warm caress;
…………no moist embrace; no crashing waves spill on the shore.
…………His footsteps press no dip into the sand,
yet sear her heart for evermore.

A blood red ache
…………boils beneath bulging rust;
……………………….it’s all that is left…

all that is left beneath the dust.

.

©Jane Paterson Basil

24 thoughts on “Dust

            1. I have to tell you – I’m having incredible fun with my poetry at the moment. I feel like a phoenix.
              At the same time, I feel bad that I’m not keeping up with my reading. I’m nervous that if I don’t keep writing the words may all slip away…

              Liked by 1 person

                1. Words are so beautiful. I want to do them justice, shape them into lovely visions… I often wonder where all this stuff comes from… but then I think of Leonard Cohen’s poetry and lyrics, and it makes me feel faint. I wish I could write as well as he did. I hate that he’s dead, and the words have stopped.

                  Liked by 1 person

                    1. He’s inspired me for almost forty years, since I first heard him sing Suzanne. I haven’t been able to listen to him since he died – it’s too upsetting.
                      I know how silly that sounds…

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. i get that .. I don’t visit my favourite spot in Nepal since my favourite man from there died. It just wouldn’t be the same without him … let’s hope we get over it …

                      Liked by 1 person

  1. The words just drip form from your fingers Jane 🙂 There must be a direct channel that connects the flow from above to the head bone to the finger bone to the keyboard and back out to the ethers fully formed to be tasted and enjoyed….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Raili. I used a lot of words which are familiar to many love poems. It could be that they connect us to memories fo poems we have loved, increasing the emotional response. I may do some experimentation – take the salient words of particular well loved poems and use them, and see how readers respond…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

