Addiction,Recovery, Relapse

.

Addiction, recovery, relapse; it’s a loop which grips you like a noose. That first step to recovery is painful and frightening. Many addicts are in two minds about it when they take the first step, so it comes to nothing; in no time they are back on the street scoring. It’s claimed that you have to hit rock bottom before you’re ready for recovery, but rock bottom can be an awfully long way down, with untold dangers on the way.

It’s unusual for an addict to go into permanent recovery at the first attempt. They often get into that familiar pattern: addiction, recovery, relapse, addiction, recovery, relapse. This is traumatising for everyone who cares. Each time the addict relapses they are at high risk of overdose, as their tolerance for the drug has gone down. Family and friends often give up on the addict, but they need to know that with every attempt, there is more chance of success, just as every time a learner driver takes a driving test, they are more likely to pass.

So, addiction, recovery, relapse is a loop which grips you like a noose, but a noose can be untied. The circle can be broken, placing the addict in permanent recovery, though only time can tell if this has occurred.

Addicts get clean every day, and stay clean for the rest of their lives. Some of them go on to work tirelessly to support other addicts through recovery, though their hearts may be torn over and over again. I have great admiration for all recovering addicts.

Today, I pay tribute to recovered addicts everywhere; in particular, two brave young women who will remain nameless (it’s enough that they know who they are); a local man called Jimmy, who has become an inspiration to many in this town; Adam, at the Bideford Lighthouse project, and, of course, my daughter Laura.

I live in hope that I may add my son’s name to this list at some point.

With Grateful thanks to Sumyanna, whose thoughtful suggestion has given me new hope, and who may be pleased to learn that she inspired this post.

The Daily Post #Loop

ยฉJane Paterson Basil

20 thoughts on “Addiction,Recovery, Relapse

  1. good to clarify the cycle of ups and downs and that you have found support and inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚
    I enjoy the friendship of several recovered addicts altho they don’t proclaim their background to many .. each and every one makes invaluable contributions to their community and we couldn’t ask for more ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m grateful for all the amazing support and inspiration I get from the WP community. It’s led me to view the world in a different light ๐Ÿ™‚
      You’ve made a point that I is missing from my post – recovered addicts tend to become stalwarts of the community ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. absolutely … they really know what suffering is about and when they do turn around it’s completely .. and service is deep within them maybe to right the wrongs or simply out of gratitude … just look at your daughter ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh so sweet. Now I’ve got tears in my eyes. I do hope you can as his name as well. I know you truly have not given up on him and I won’t either. Congratulations to the beautiful ladies who were strong enough to give themselves new leases on life. May they enjoy life fully.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It’s a hard lesson to learn, and even those who should know better can make that mistake . When my two youngest children became addicts I knew about addiction, and yet I was in denial where they were concerned. I thought they’d be different – a couple of months and they’d have had enough and clean themselves up. That was ten years ago. My daughter’s been in recovery for three months, and I know how lucky I am.

      Like

Leave a Reply

