A Different Poem

You aimed your insipid quill at my head,
scratching for glib metaphoric descriptions of shallow waters,

scribbling ill-conceived inaccuracies
while your bitter heart
flattered you with fairy tales of poetic skill,

piddling insults on exercise paper
with the optimistic aid of a gold-plated pen,

pretending Dylan depth
where only an inch of silt sprawled.

Have your short-shrift eyes ever stared into a clear sky,
while you pondered your dimensions,

Have you held a silvery moon in your hands,
and just for one instant, did its supreme beauty
sweep away the stench of snarling beasts,

have you reached for a penny to feed your soul,
felt it slither between your fingers,
seen it plummet to the chasm beneath your feet,
and felt yourself slide.

have you spooned tatters of fading glitter into your heart
just to keep it beating,
even as your head fought a call for six feet of crushing soil,

have you asked the question, and heard silence in reply,
and did you find your way to the next chapter
through a tangled network of collapsing tunnels.

Have you safely reached a clearing filled with spring fragrance,
and known that you were only a guest in this calm haven,
resting for the next leg of your journey.

Did you breathe deeply of the clean air,
and appreciate the fragrance of wild rose and meadowsweet,
fixing your mind on the vision of delight
while mud sucked at your feet.

Did you.

If, since your last effort,
you have travelled in my vicinity,
I give you permission to write a different poem
about me.

Written for The Daily Post #Shallow

Β©Jane Paterson Basil

42 thoughts on “A Different Poem

      1. Pennies from heaven … ? Sure, dig it. Canada stopped using pennies as legal tender over 5 years ago now. It some thing falls below 3 or 8 cents you will be charged at the nearest 5 or zero below. If it is 3 or 8 above. The the cost is rounded up to the next multiple of five. … sigh! Consequently, no pennies from heaven. Cheers Jamie

        Like

          1. I suppose yet rationally, I do not agree. It’s actually dodging inflation. Maybe the thing that’s being divided, should be doubled? If it were based in gold or another commodity? We may see it, not be attacked so …? Cheers Jamie

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I don’t know. I like numbers, but when those numbers turn into money I lose interest. I guess that’s why I don’t have a luxury yacht to take cruising. or a Daimler parked in the garage next to my mansion.

              Liked by 1 person

                1. It’s more of a one bedroom flat – but it’s a mansion compared to a sleeping bag laid out in a shop doorway – if I had a mansion I expect I’d open it up to street sleepers and move into the servants quarters…
                  Or would I? Many people change when they acquire wealth. Who’s to say I’d be any better?

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. Ahhh, you got that nail on the head. People change with possessions. We’re talking real big possessions, here. Like mansions, etc. They are easy enough to reject when you don’t have them. I find caught in both worlds. The notion to be generous is fine. Then people will latch onto you, only for that. They whisper all sorts into your ears to keep the taps flowing. No, we’re better off in our one bedrooms. Then feel somewhat superior to people with real wealth. I was joking about the mansion, of course. Do people in mansions blog, anyway? Then again, how do we define mansion? Generosity with spirit of soul, seems a fair comprimise? Share what you can when you can and be cautious with whom you share it. Cheers Jamie

                    Like

  1. We lost our pennies = cents here too many years ago to the rounding up and down thing. Now they’re talking of doing away with the 5 cent coin!
    I think I know you well enough to write a different poem about you. Hey! I just remembered I did – I sent it to you, remember πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You did! I LOVE that poem. It’s very different to the one written about me by a rejected lover almost 45 years ago πŸ™‚

      You ask her her name, she says beautiful nubial,
      you ask her again, she says I’m just the usual.
      Mystery surrounds her like a shroud,
      but you can see through her if her presence will allow.
      (etc)

      OK, maybe it is good, but it was cruel and inaccurate…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s all good … embrace the unfriendly for it helps mould you, to what you are. That’s my take. I like the poems plural. That’s what I dig, even this,

    You ask her her name, she says beautiful nubial,
    you ask her again, she says I’m just the usual.
    Mystery surrounds her like a shroud,
    but you can see through her if her presence will allow.

    You use your picture as an icon. Hard to say when it was taken? Does it show a 60+ year old? Yes, and no. I see, mannish eyebrows, laughing eyes and high forehead, oval face used to smiling.

    My hair is now grey and it once was multi-coloured from blond to brown, red and black.

    Yet, whoever that poem once was? it was probably written in a fit of pique?

    Mostly, I like this:

    Have you safely reached a clearing filled with spring fragrance,
    and known that you were only a guest in this calm haven,
    resting for the next leg of your journey.

    Did you breathe deeply of the clean air,
    and appreciate the fragrance of wild rose and meadowsweet,
    fixing your mind on the vision of delight
    while mud sucked at your feet.

    I might be critical of my ex’s but I do not? None of us are perfect, as much as we would like to believe. At least you’re somewhat open about it. Good on yer’ mate … Cheers Jamie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jamie, for your interesting comments. This was another of those poems which rises up unexpectedly – no more, really, than a ridiculously belated response too the poem written about me so long ago. I couldn’t have written it at the time, since I was so angry. I’m not angry now – just making use of the memory of that anger.
      The photo of me was taken a few months ago, to replace the most recent photo I previously had available, which was about ten years old, and therefore smacked of dishonesty. It’s a good likeness, except that it covers a narrow streak of hair that turned grey just over twenty years ago, after a distressing event, and is one of my few conceits.
      As for openness – for many years I was surrounded by secrets and lies which damaged those I love and myself, with the result that I’m possibly too open and honest.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this! Especially this stanza… have you spooned tatters of fading glitter into your heart
just to keep it beating,
even as your head fought a call for six feet of crushing soil,
    Beautifully written. ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I had a bad feeling that was the case. Hold on to the good things in your life, and whatever you do, don’t forget how to laugh. I did, and that was the worst thing. My niece saved me. I gave up my home to do a jobshare at a holiday campsite which I only applied for because I didn’t think we’d get it. We lived in a tent in the woods for six months, and she taught me to laugh again. I don’t want you to have to go to such extremes… although it was fun πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thank you so much Jane. Your words are such an encouragement to me. I’m doing everything I can to hold onto laughing. It really is the best medicine. Sounds like that would have been fun, but very difficult at the same time. πŸ™‚

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

