Colour me

colouring

Today, I’ve been wasting time looking for answers to questions that don’t matter much to me. I found an oojamaflip called colorquiz. on the interwhatsit.

In the site’s own words, “ColorQuiz is a free five minute personality test based on decades of research by color psychologists around the world. There are no complicated questions to answer, you simply choose colors with a click of the mouse!”

Apparently, this test is based on the work of Dr. Max Lûscher and is used worldwide, most notably in Europe, by psychologists, doctors, government agencies, and universities to screen their candidates. Since the 1950’s the test has been given to hundreds of thousands of people.

How could I resist?

My results describe a combination of the way I used to be and the way I’ve been since certain events in my life sent me crashing to my knees.

Thank you for asking; yes, my knees have recovered, although I still get the occasional twinges in other parts of my body.

Without further ado, here’s the analysis…

Oh – first I should tell you a couple of things:

1. They’re wrong about my sexual activity; these days I carefully avoid that messy occupation, and all involvements which may lead up to it. 

(Ha! My results touch on that point in the section titled “Your Stress Sources”) 

2. I have no idea why the analyser repeats that section. Maybe it’s trying to lead me astray by awakening my curiosity concerning sexual activity. 

(No chance, pal)

Here’s the analysis. I copied and pasted it, and therefore take no responsibility for any small errors.

blog28px

Your Existing Situation

“Craves change and new things, always looking for new adventures and activities. Becomes restless and frustrated when she has to wait to long for things to develop. her impatience leads to irritability and a desire to move on to the next project.”

Your Stress Sources

“Not a team player and is unwilling to be involved in most activities. In the past she was over involved and now emotionally drained. Due to her fear of over involvement, she now chooses to remain uninvolved with the activities around her. “

Your Restrained Characteristics

“Although she feels isolated and alone, she is afraid of forming deep, meaningful relationships. Is conceited and is easily offended.”

Current events have her feeling forced to make bargains and put aside her own desires for now. She is able to find satisfaction and happiness through sexual activity.

Current events have her feeling forced to make bargains and put aside her own desires for now. She is able to find satisfaction and happiness through sexual activity.

Your Desired Objective

“Highly optimistic and outgoing personality. Loves to learn new and exciting things, and craves new interests. Looking for a well-rounded life full of success and new experiences. Does not allow herself to be overcome with negative thoughts or self-doubt. Takes life head on, with enthusiasm. “

Your Actual Problem

Is afraid she will be held back from obtaining the things she wants leading her to act out with a hectic intensity.

blog28px

I’d like to run through a couple of details with which I have issues:

1. “Not a team player and is unwilling to be involved in most activities.”
If they’re going to take that attitude I can do without their help, thank you very much. I’m perfectly capable of figuring out my personality all on my own. When I finish writing this post, I’m off for my weekly game of one player, one sided hockey, and I bet I’ll win. I always do.

2. “Is conceited and is easily offended.”

Conceited? How dare they suggest such a thing. While I know I’m the most intelligent, compassionate, brave, beautiful, intuitive and considerate person on the planet, I’m also humble, and grateful to my incredible brain and my delectable body for providing me with all of these qualities. I think the analyser is jealous of me. What’s more, I’m not easily offended.

This is my honest appraisal of the analysis:

There are a couple of glaring innaccuracies. There’s the bit about sexual activity – which I’ve always tended to  find intrusive and disempowering, and this:

“Does not allow herself to be overcome with negative thoughts or self-doubt.”

Wrong! I wrote the book on self-doubt – but I didn’t have the confidence to approach a publisher.

Other than that, I can relate to the results, which suggest – quite rightly – that I’m a solitary sort.

I’m itching to try the test again, just to make sure it gives the same results – I can remember the exact order in which I selected the colours in both parts of the test.

I wonder if the compilers were/are sexist, and whether the results would be the same if I ticked the man box.

Heh heh heh…

I’m an analyser’s nightmare, and proud of it.

If you want to try the test yourself, here’s the link to colorquiz. I’d love to know how it goes.

©Jane Paterson Basil

52 thoughts on “Colour me

    1. I checked out the information on that, but it costs money, and I’m just messing around. I took a look at all the personality types, and it’s not hard to see which category I fall into.

      Like

      1. Here in Canada it has always been free.
        https://www.psychometrics.com/assessments/
        There are many free sites. Try Google? Then after, see the distribution of types and the demographics of them. It is quite mind-boggling. I am an INFJ type. Along with INFP they represent less than 5% of population. Maybe less? I once emailed the Myer-Briggs Institution, found online. Yes, they have an institution and while it took sometime, the director emailed me back with the info I was seeking. Myer-Briggs as people seem very interesting, too. Also Carl Jung who worked with them, to develop the test and types. While I know little of colours like yellow and orange? They are not usually associated with peaceful life, in the home. Feng Shui has some useful insights, using colour for a harmonious and peaceful living.
        Cheers Jamie

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I read through the 16 personality types, and apart from INFJ, each one contained at least one charactaristic opposite to mine. I could research it, but I already know that I’m an INFJ type; Introverted, iNtuitive, Feeling, Judging. If I’d chosen to take a guess, I’d have guessed that your first two letters would be I&N, and the fourth one would more likely be J, but I wouldn’t have been able to predict the third letter.
          I’m glad you reminded me about Feng Shui. When I moved into my current home, I used some of those principles; I always do, but now my living room feels stale. I’m blocking the Chi with my junk. I need to get rid of some things, and re-position others.

          Like

          1. Okay … busted? The philosopher Socrates is known for his cryptic, “Know thyself”. For that we need to know that self. In living we require junk. It’s all junk anyway. We are born into this world screaming and crying, hands grasping clenched tightly. When we leave, it is quiet fingers stretched out, hands empty. We need stuff while alive but not after.
            Cheers Jamie

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Hmm… I take pity on high quality china that doesn’t sell in our Oxfam shop, or online. It gets dumped in the skip, since it’s one of the few things we can’t recycle. I don’t want the stuff, but can’t bring myself to chuck it away.
              I think I’ve identified the real problem. I have four of my father’s sculptures in the room. Two of them are of me. There are negative associations. I should give them to my children, who don’t have those associations.

              Like

              1. Ahh yes, okay? Yet, porcelain is recyclable. Others do not value it, why do you? If room is an issue? Ditch it or use it. Sorry to sound hard-hearted. It’s just stuff.

                I had a friend, who was obsessed with saving stuff from the dumps and would visit them, searching out the salvageable. Eventually her house was so full. With rugs upon carpets, basement so full it was inaccessible etc. It turned into a big project to rid herself of it. As far as I know? Still not done with it?

                I am bad too. I moved and put all of my house, small house, into storage here. Two years ago and I’m still paying for storage. … sigh. We are making it a project to start emptying it once the weather is a bit cooler. When being in the storage unit is tolerable.

                Sell the sculptures? If they are good? They will sell. Give them to a museum? Place them in the street or local park? Street art? If they are bronze, scrap prices are good? Cheers Jamie

                Liked by 1 person

                1. I’ve given some of the sculptures away, to the people who modeled for them almost fifty years ago – there are advantages to living in the same town all your life – but I’m stupidly attached to the ones of me. Definitely time to let go. I should know – three-and-a-half years ago I gave away almost all my possessions to go and live in a tent in the woods for six months. It was liberating, but now it’s all building up again.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. Lived in a tent? I’m not sure whether I should admire that, or laugh? Good on yer’? Or, you poor sap? I suppose it depends on whether you achieved your goal, in doing so? I have always believed in living moderately. Once when first in Canada, I was looking to buy a tipi. Glad it fell through, for winters are cold, even with a liner and wood stove. I did live in a tiny cabin for one winter but then I got a real job and things changed. If you like the sculptures? Nothing wrong with some art, is there? I like pottery and glass and always on the look out for a good piece. In B.C. that’s not easy. Even worse now the internet keeps people appraised. Cheers Jamie

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Living in a tent was a prerequisite for my summer job as warden on a holiday campsite. My niece and I ran the place, and I loved it. The guests got used to the sound of our laughter around our campfire as we were cooking, eating and digesting our food. I’d had a couple of gruelling years with my two younger children’s addictions, which had taken away my ability to laugh. My family were concerned about me, and my niece got me to apply for the job share. I was in such a bad way that I wouldn’t have applied if I’d known we’d get it – there were almost 200 applicants. When we were accepted I had to give up my flat, so I got rid of almost everything I owned. At the end of the season I was homeless. I sofa surfed, then I was lent a near-derelict place. I was properly housed after 8 months. None of that mattered – I’d achieved my goal. I could laugh again.

                      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree. I could see the test possibly being able to give some insight into one’s particular mood at the time of taking the test, but nothing beyond that (and even on that front, it would be undermined by one’s color preferences regardless of mood). But they are fun to dink around with.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I have the book sitting on my bookshelf! Bought it many long years ago. Must go and do the quizz thingy. I’d be interested to see what you get if you repeat it as a man 🙂
    Just did it. What a load of crock ! I didn’t identify with 95% of it …

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I tried it, and the results were interesting – they said pretty much the same things, but there was a nasty edge to them. In other words, the site is sexist. It’s OK for a woman to be a mess – it’s expected, as women are weak, inferior little things, but if a man is a mess, he’s little short of evil.
          It’s all nonsense.

          Liked by 1 person

    1. We are too influenced by fashion and other factors (for example, certain colours have positive or negative memory associations), for it to be fully reliable. I think it also plays on our negative feelings about ourselves – I’ve tried several colour combinations, and the results were all pretty negative.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for another great post with a suggestion on how to waste the time that I should spend working 😉 I doubt the validity of the colour test, but some of the results were pretty accurate for me, surprisingly. Although: “Holds back emotionally but is able to find satisfaction through sexual activity.” * snort * So wrong.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That statement gives me an image of someone prowling the streets in search of men 🙂
      I need to stop wasting time, too – I’ve just written a post about another silly site, but this one’s different; it’s intentionally daft.

      Like

  3. This crap is actually used by colleges and governments? Good lord above! Fun to take for a laugh but to think someone’s future might rely on the results – scary. And you make it sound pretty sinister with the sexist overtones. Nasty, outmoded rubbish. But a grand post, Jane

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find it hard to believe that it’s used as a serious tool.
      I rarely waste my time with Facebook, but I’ve seen a ‘What kind of mother are you?’ test on there. The questions have obvious ‘right’ answers, so people answer with lies, and come out smelling of roses. Then they publish the results.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 95% of Facebook is irrritating or a waste of time – all of those ‘share this if you love your daughter more than you can say’ type posts. If you feel the need to share a post to prove you love your kids … I only joined to help promote my writing and a few people do find the blog through it. Otherwise it’s all selfies and pics of other people on holiday. The only really useful thing about it is sharing and finding petitions, though how much impact they make on the powers that be is debatable

        Liked by 2 people

        1. I happened on a post a while ago which said that anybody who didn’t click ‘like’ wasn’t a true friend since they weren’t reading her posts, and would be deleted from her friends list. I ignored it.
          The only thing I can say about petitions is that you have to try. It’s the same with marches – when I go to a march it’s because I feel the need to stand up and be counted. I don’t expect change, but it feels good to be surrounded by like-minded people.

          Liked by 2 people

          1. Yes, that’s exactly the kind of post I hate. I suspect the lady in question must have had something going on, some insecurity that made her react like that. It’s all such nonsense.
            And yes, you’re right about marches and petitions. They might not help change anything, but at least you know there are other people who feel the same way about something.

            Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂
      I’ll be happy to check out your blog, but I have to warn you, my beauty treatment consists of vegetable based soap and very simple, natural products. I don’t wear make-up and I make my own perfume. I also avoid anything which contains animal products or has been tested by animals.
      I could be your worst nightmare 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

