That Shrinking Feeling

Fly-ride

.

“Mum!”

She told me it would be dangerous to use my power lightly, but when I saw the insect just standing there in the park, I couldn’t resist shrinking so I could take a ride on the back of the fly. It was exciting, like the best fairground ride, but without the predictability. It was fun watching mum wondering where I was, and getting scared.

“Mum!”

She can’t hear me. My vocal chords are too small, and although she’s frantically looking for me, I’m too tiny to see.

I wish I’d listened when she said I was not experienced enough to reverse the effect without her help.

“Mum! MUM!”

Mum, please come and set me free, before the spider reaches me.

.

Written for Michelle’s Photo Challenge #101. Click the link to join in.

©Jane Paterson Basil

4 thoughts on “That Shrinking Feeling

  1. Great challenge to take part in Jane, love your response to the photo, made me smile. I once created a bumbling Mage character who taught magic and one of her lessons was “never do a do until you know the undo”!

    Like

Leave a Reply

