Daily Archives: March 5, 2016

Chaos

they
clamour by
– hours, days, weeks –
with no reason I can see, and
the merest modicum of free rhyme
even the slim routine hiccups, leaps; spilling
like last month’s grime from an overstuffed hoover bag
across my living room, to be unwittingly inhaled into my mind

life is measured more by cardboard tubes from used-up toilet rolls

unlikely tales, renewing old disappointments

unexpected entrances and exits

unwanted requests

than by real

time

©Jane Paterson Basil

Co-dependence

window-view-10_720.jpg

you roamed my flat, lost, isolated
hiding from your years of shame and grime
I felt your pain, and yearned, inadequately, for change

last evening you went, invited, to my grandson’s gig
I hope you made a new friend or two
perhaps you went home late
with a smile on your face

today, everyone I see from my street view window
looks like you, walks like you
but isn’t
you

©Jane Paterson Basil