Daily Archives: January 15, 2016

Morphed

Morphing

The Daily Post for Jan 15, 2016, suggests: Today, give a word an evolutionary push: give a common word a new meaning, explain it to us, and use it in the title of your post.

Comic character 26 by Firkin

Image by Firkin

I’m morphed til my buttons have all but exploded.
each meal was so good that I overloaded
my plate, and I know that I ate far too much
leaving me feeling like such a gannet,
and fearing the planet will groan and sink
beneath my weight, but it’s too late
to worry; the damage is done.

I’ve morphed the word “morphed.” It now means “bloated”.

©Jane Paterson Basil

Ocean offspring

crashing-waves-140244_960_720.jpg

I watch the balmy sea unceasingly pull from distant haze,
its baby ripples shimmering toward the sand
and as they build to pregnant swell
I still my breath, anticipating
a growing wall of hushing water,
which holds its shape, then
hollows-out
for
threatening,
breath-taking seconds, before
its apex breaks to foaming white, and,
like a raging child, it rains those sprays of angry brine
onto the parent sea, which shushes out a lullaby
soothing its spuming loved-one home, to continue its thrilling odyssey,
ever forgiving the offspring’s sins
however great they may be.

©Jane Paterson Basil