Daily Archives: October 25, 2017

Time. An Extreme ABC Poem

a
bottomless
chasm
deceptively
easing
favourable
green
hope
into
jewelled
kernel,
lending
me
no
overtime,
permanently
questing,
rolling,
slyly
ticking,
unceasing,
vast…
willfully
x‘ing
yesterday’s
zest.

Here’s another one for Mick’s Short Form Poetry Challenge. I don’t think this poetry form is officially recognised, since the only example of it that I can find is a poem I wrote myself,  and posted on my blog back in August 2015. Therefore I tentatively claim it as my own, and I give it the title Extreme ABC Poetry. It contains 26 lines, each line begins with a different letter of the alphabet, and the lines run in alphabetical order. The difference between my extreme form and the standard form of ABC poetry is that each line contains only one word.

©Jane Paterson Basil